Skip to content

Saint Ann Restaurant & Bar [Dallas TX]

October 15, 2011

My French teacher recommended this restaurant a while ago and I filed the information away. I trusted her judgement for two totally different reasons. On one hand,  she’s a well-travelled woman and people who travel a lot tend to have a more open mind and a more discriminating palate (in my humble opinion). And, on the other hand, her name is Anne, the restaurant is called Saint Ann and my own name is Ana: it was meant to be.

We had a table booked for 8:15 on a Friday. The place was heaving with people. There was an hour’s wait for those without reservations. Ouch!

The layout is very interesting: the bar is on one side and the tables are on the opposite side, divided by a staircase that leads to the restrooms and the small museum that will house a collection of samurai-related art. The eating area opens to the big patio -said the be the biggest in Dallas,- which gives the place a nice flow.

This layout made for very interesting people watching. We noticed the differences in style, hair and even body shape between the ‘burbs and hip, chic downtown/uptown.

We were told that they were planning to change the menu soon and I’m sure the food will be every bit as good as what we were served today.

We ordered two small plates: dates stuffed with chorizo and wrapped in bacon with a roasted tomato-piquillo pepper sauce and the charcuterie platter. The stuffed dates were my favourite:  the sweetness of the date worked very well with the saltiness of the bacon and the smoky flavour of the chorizo. The charcuterie platter included foie gras pate, which wasn’t bad but had no foie gras taste to it, duck prosciutto (it felt greasy), soppressata. Dijon mustard, cornichons and Melba toast.

Charcuterie platter - Saint Ann

Charcuterie platter - Saint Ann

Sean ordered the Texas Kobe beef burger with pickled onions, Texas cheddar and arugula on a ciabatta bun with sweet potato fries. I swear I could hear angels playing the harp when I tasted the burger. It was packed with flavour! Our waiter told us that the delicious cheese was local and that we could find it at Central Market. The pickled red onion took it to the next level.

I had a baby lettuce and herb salad dressed with olive oil, sherry vinegar and brioche croutons, Simple as it may sound, it was very fresh and delicious. The brioche croutons were more-ish.

For dessert I had a lemon tart with mascarpone cheese. The filling was tart and flavoursome (and I could taste the lemon zest), well balanced by the creamy mascarpone.

Lemon tart with mascarpone cheese - Saint Ann

Lemon tart with mascarpone cheese - Saint Ann

(The quality of the photo isn’t very good because I used my phone and cancelled the flash following diner etiquette rules.)

All in all, Saint Ann is a good place to meet friends for a meal or hang out in the patio with a drink.

 

Next to Saint Ann Court
2501 N. Harwood Street,
Harwood, Dallas, Texas 75201
T: 214.782.9807
info@saintanndallas.com
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 7:36 pm

    It looks like you had a great meal! Do you remember the name of the local Cheddar that was on the burger?

    • October 16, 2011 11:45 am

      I’m trying to remember, I know it began with a W, like Windermere? I wish I’d written it down!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. October 16, 2011 2:02 am

    How wonderful. It totally was meant to be, great name for a restaurant. You had a salad girl? Dang, I wish I could do that, I always have intentions of eating light, but totally overdo and insist on trying everything. Love the look of the tart. Yum!!! Hope your doing well. 🙂

    • October 16, 2011 11:45 am

      We should do an Anna / Ana / Ann themed meal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

