Skip to content

Glutton & Glee [Guildford, UK]

July 22, 2011

Sean dropped me off at the station to tkae the train into Guildford. I was planning to check out the local museum (interesting and comprehensive, if small), the castle and, of course, the shops.

After walking around Guildford for a while, shopping and seeing the sights, I decided it was time for a much needed break. Now, where to eat? I saw a French bistro that looked interesting but when I’m by myself, I prefer smaller, more intimate environments.

Across the street was this lovely little cafe called Glutton & Glee. What got my attention was the sign outside that read “British food, locally sourced.” So in I went.

 Small and cozy describe it very well: there are three single tables downstairs next to the window, the counter and a couple of ovens (as I was paying, someone was removing a cake from the oven. It smelled delicious.) There is marginally more room upstairs: three single ones and two tables for four. The castle gardens can be seen from the window. I loved the ancient wood beams supporting the ceiling.

 

I ordered a Sherbourne Farm ham and cheddar with Sussex beer mustard on sourdough bread, a lemonade and a coffee. The sandwich came with some potato crisps (or chips, depending who’s reading this) and cost £ 4.95. I’d forgotten that English mustard was such a great sinus cleanser!

The ingredients were fresh and tasty and the coffee was good. The staff are young, enthusiastic and paid attention to every detail. A lovely experience.

Glutton & Glee Cafe

6, Tunsgate

Guildford

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 7:20 am

    Sounds like my kinda place, perfectly perfect. Love the simplicity of the place, cozy and comfortable, delish for a Sunday session …. A good book, the sambo and a pint sized coffee. 🙂 Thanks for sharing sweets.

    • July 24, 2011 6:06 pm

      Hi Anna. It is really is a nice place to spend an hour or two’

  2. July 27, 2011 7:13 am

    That sandwich looks simple and delicious! The bread, in particular, is calling to me through my computer screen. I’m glad you found such a charming spot for lunch.

    • July 27, 2011 7:16 am

      Hi Katie. The bread here is different, more dense, almost like cake. I think English cuisine does not deserve such a bad reputation.

  3. August 3, 2011 2:02 pm

    I would have gone in for the name alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

