Skip to content

Bread Winners Cafe and Bakery [Plano TX]

March 30, 2011

Breadwinners has become our new Sunday tradition. We always go to their Plano location on 4021 Preston Road for brunch. It is invariably very busy, especially around noon. Wait time can be up to an hour or more for a table (although we bail if we have to wait that long.)

As soon as you sit down, the server brings a plate with samples of different kinds of cake. That’s my favourite moment. I usually scarf them down before the coffee arrives, although I try to pace myself. The coffee’s good and there are endless refills.

Coffe and cake

As a rule, food here is very good. Portions are big enough to share (although it’s not family style) or take home for dinner. The kitchen is efficient and produces food relatively quickly and consistently.

Their buttermilk pancakes are huge, almost as big as the plate, and light and fluffy. One of my favourite dishes is the French ham Benedicts, with smoked ham, asparagus, over easy eggs and hollandaise sauce served over a croissant. It comes with breakfast potatoes or fresh fruit.

French eggs Benedict

Sean’s favourite is the Southwest migas: scrambled eggs, chorizo, tortilla strips, onions, peppers, jalapenos, salsa and soft tortillas.

Southwest migas

The only item on the menu that I didn’t care for was the queen of hearts salad, the dressing felt sandy in my mouth.

Their baked goods are also delicious. We’ve bought their ginger cake is perfect; moist, spicy and not too sweet. The other day I bought a blueberry and lemon muffin to go. It made my flight more enjoyable!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 5:30 pm

    I love all the dishes especially the cakes with coffee. Just the right combination to make me drool.

  2. March 31, 2011 10:44 am

    What a fabulous recommendation. Thank you so much for the lovely post. We appreciate you telling your readers and friends about us and look forward to having you back again soon.

  3. May 25, 2011 12:04 am

    I’d have to agree with Sean. Anytime I can have jalapenos for breakfast I’m happy.

    • May 25, 2011 3:37 pm

      I’m more of a croissant and cafe au lait kind of girl 🙂

  4. August 3, 2011 2:04 pm

    We used to go to Breadwinner when we lived in Dallas. Good stuff.

    • August 3, 2011 2:13 pm

      We’ll probably go to Breadwinners when we return from England.

Leave a Reply

